Federação de Badminton E PARABADMINTON do Estado de São Paulo

Chipre Internacional (em inglês)

Danish players win 4 out of 5 in Cyprus International

13 October 2008

Danish players won four out of five finals in the SOTX Cyprus Badminton International played at the “Parnassos” Sports Centre on Sunday morning. Kasper Ipsen and Camilla Overgaard were victorious in the singles event. Success for Icelandic badminton as Magnus Ingi Helgason and Helgi Johannesson won the men’s doubles event.

Kasper Ipsen - winner in men s singlesSecond seeded Dane, Kasper Ipsen, had a fairly easy time in the men’s singles final against his compatriot and team colleague Emil Vind, as he won the final in straight sets, 21-10, 21-12. The dominance in men’s singles was complete as also both the losing semi finalists were Danes.

  Solenn Pasturel - runner up in women s singlesThe winner in women’s singles was also from Denmark as Camilla Overgaard beat the top seeded Solenn Pasturel from England in the final. It was however not without problems that she claimed the title. The English player started out the best in the first set, but the Danish girl proved a formidable opponent as she won the next two sets to claim the title - 19/21 21/15 21/17 the match ended in favour of the young Dane.   Denmark, and in particular Maria Helsboel, had a good day in Cyprus, as she won the two events in which she entered. Together with Peter Mork she won the mixed doubles event, where they overcame their respective doubles partners, Anne Skelbaek and Niklas Hoff in an all Danish encounter. 26/24 in the third set this thriller ended.   Maria Helsboel and Anne Skelbaek had to play another final – this time together. And here they had no problems in overcoming the challenge of the Polish combination Natalia Pocztowiak and Aleksandra Walaszek who were beaten in straight sets.   In the last final Helgi Johannesson and Magnus Ingi Helgason from Iceland prevented the Danish shuttlers from making a “clean sweep” as they proved too good for the Danish youngsters Martin Baatz Olsen and Thomas Fynbo in the men’s doubles final. The Icelandic pair thereby gave, not only themselves, but also their federation and their fellow countrymen a welcome success – especially taken into consideration what has happened in their home country over the last couple of weeks.

Fonte : site Badminton Europa


Federação de Badminton e Parabadminton do Estado de São Paulo
Rua Eng. Isac Garcez 685 - Rudge Ramos - S.B.Campo - SP - CEP 09619-110
Telefones (011) 947822188 e (011) 991630628
administrativo@febasp.org.br / febasp@febasp.org.br

desenvolvido por Orion Public ©2013